2018 EDEN Annual Conference Awards and Recognition

Best Research Paper Award

Since 2008, EDEN has bestowed the Best Research Paper Award at its Annual Conferences and the bi-annual Research Workshops.

A robust selection process guarantees the high-standing of these awards for contributions to the field of open, distance and e-learning. The selection process takes place in collaboration with the Ulrich Bernath Foundation for Research in Open and Distance Learning, with the support of a distinguished Jury. Read more and see previous winners here.

The Best Research Paper Award ceremony was held at the conference gala dinner and went to:

Paul Prinsloo,
University of South Africa,
South Africa
Sharon Slade,
The Open University,
United Kingdom
Mohammad Khalil,
Delft University of Technology,
for the conference paper on
Stuck in the Middle? Making Sense of the Impact of Micro, Meso and Macro Institutional, Structural and Organisational Factors on Implementing Learning Analytics

Young Scholars Award

The award to young scholars has been offered at our Annual Conferences and Research Workshops since its introduction in 2014 in Oxford thanks to the Ulrich Bernath Foundation and the Oldenburg University.
The Young Scholar Award was given in 2018, based on the decision of the EDEN Executive Committee to:

Mengjie Jiang,
University of Leicester,
United Kingdomfor her conference paper co-authored with Palitha Edirisingha, titledBoundary Crossing: International Students’ Negotiating Higher Education Learning with Digital Tools and Resources
and Maria Rosaria Re,
Roma Tre University,
Italyfor her contributions to the conference by the paper co-authored with Antonella Poce, titledMuseTech: A Web App to Enhance 21st Century Skills through Heritage Educationand partnership in the workshop titled

“Road To Barcelona: Developing Joint International Researches Presenting Results at the 10th Eden RW”,

further the Synergy submission

„Opening Education for Developing, Assessing and Recognising Virtual Mobility Skills in Higher Education”

EDEN Fellow and Senior Fellow Awards

The purpose of the EDEN Fellow scheme is to provide validation and support to professionals in Europe in the field of open, distance and e-learning, and to enhance their mobility within Europe through a respected scheme of recognition.

The first Senior Fellow and Fellow Awards, launched on the initiative of Professor Alan Tait, former EDEN President, were presented at the 2007 Annual Conference in Naples. In 2018, this tradition was continued in Genova, at the Welcome Reception of the 2018 Annual Conference – #eden18. The 2018 Awards were announced to the Senior Fellows, Fellows and Young Scholars and conference delegates present at the event.

The EDEN Senior Fellow Awards were given in 2018, based on the decision of the EDEN Executive Committee to:

Fabio Nascimbeni
Universidad Internacional de La Rioja, Spain

Lisa Marie Blaschke
Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg, Germany

Alfredo Soeiro
University of Porto, Portugal

Don Olcott Jr.
Global ODL Consultant, Romania

The EDEN Fellow Awards were given in 2018, based on the decision of the EDEN Executive Committee to:

Svetlana Knyazeva
UNESCO Institute for Information Technologies in Education, Russian Federation

Josep M Duart
Universitat Oberta de Catalunya – UOC, Spain

Mark Nichols
The Open University, United Kingdom

Francesco Agrusti
Universita Degli Studi Roma Tre, Italy

EDEN Badges

The European Distance and E-Learning Network has extended its quality and excellence recognition with the launch of open badges which aim to help colleagues within the EDEN Network to communicate their achievements and skills acquired via their participation in EDEN activities. See more here.