2019 EDEN Annual Conference Awards and Recognition

Best Research Paper Award

Since 2008, EDEN has bestowed the Best Research Paper Award at its Annual Conferences and the bi-annual Research Workshops. The selection process takes place in collaboration with the Ulrich Bernath Foundation for Research in Open and Distance Learning, with the support of a distinguished Jury. Read more and see previous winners here.

The Best Research Paper Award ceremony was held at the conference gala dinner and went to:

Tharindu Liyanagunawardena,
University College of Estate Management,
United Kingdom
for the conference paper on
Automatic Transcription Software: Good Enough for Accessibility? A Case Study from Built Environment Education

Award for the Young Scholars’ Best Paper

The award to young scholars has been offered at our Annual Conferences and Research Workshops since its introduction in 2014 in Oxford thanks to the Ulrich Bernath Foundation and the Oldenburg University.

The Award for the Young Scholars’ Best Paper was given in 2019, based on the decision of the EDEN Executive Committee to:

Louise Maddens,
KU Leuven, KU Leuven Campus Kulak Kortrijk,
for the conference paper on
The Instructional Design of an Online Learning Environment (RISSC) for Upper Secondary SchoolStudents’ Research Skills

Ingeborg Bo Award

The EDEN Executive Committee introduced a new award this year, in honour of Ingeborg Bo, to recognise leadership and outstanding long term contributions to building the EDEN Community, which was awarded to retiring EDEN President Airina Volungeviciene.

EDEN Fellow and Senior Fellow Awards

The EDEN Fellow scheme provides recognition to professionals in Europe in the field of open, distance and e-learning through a respected scheme of recognition.

The EDEN Senior Fellow Awards were given in 2019, based on the decision of the EDEN Executive Committee to:

Andras Benedek
Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Montse Guitert Catasus
Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain

The EDEN Fellow Awards were given in 2019, based on the decision of the EDEN Executive Committee to:

Maxim Jean-Louis
Contact North, Canada

Paul Prinsloo
University of South Africa, South Africa

Ildiko Mazar
Knowledge Innovation Centre, Malta

Ines Gil-Jaurena
National Distance Education University, UNED, Spain

Margarita Tereseviciene
Vytautas Magnus University, Lithuania

EDEN Badges

The European Distance and E-Learning Network has extended its quality and excellence recognition with the launch of open badges which aim to help colleagues within the EDEN Network to communicate their achievements and skills acquired via their participation in EDEN activities. See more here.