## ITEM 7/2: ENDORSEMENT OF PRESIDENT

## FOR ENDORSEMENT

In view of the expiry of his second three year term of office in the EDEN Executive Committee, Morten F. Paulsen will no longer continue as President of EDEN after the Annual General Meeting.

According to the EDEN Constitution (Article 7.1.):

"The President shall be nominated by the Executive Committee for endorsement by the AGM."

The Executive Committee at their online meeting of 17 April, unanimously voted to nominate Antonio Moreira Teixeira as the next President of EDEN from June 2013 for endorsement by the AGM.

As Antonio Teixeiras' second term of office in the Executive Committee will expire in 2014, the Executive Committee is recommending to the AGM the application of the exception as outlined in the EDEN Constitution, Article 7.2 and to extend his mandate until June 2016.

"7.2 The term of office of the Executive Committee's member shall be three years. A person co-opted to fill a vacancy in the Executive Committee shall retire at the time of retirement of the original member. The term of office of the Executive Committee's newly elected members begins immediately after the conclusion of the meeting at which they have been elected. No person shall serve more than two consecutive three year term as a member of the Executive Committee. The Annual General Meeting may decide to apply an exception to this rule and to extend the assignment of the President in office in order to ensure that her/his mandate shall not be less than three years. Such extension of the mandate of the President results in the extension of his/her membership in the Executive Committee for the same period of time."

Dr. Andras Szucs Secretary General, EDEN