Conference Awards and Recognition

EDEN Fellow and Senior Fellow Awards

The purpose of the EDEN Fellow scheme is to provide validation and support to professionals in Europe in the field of open, distance and e-learning, and to enhance their mobility within Europe through a respected scheme of recognition.

The first Senior Fellow and Fellow Awards, launched on the initiative of Professor Alan Tait, former EDEN President, were presented at the 2007 Annual Conference in Naples. In 2017, this tradition was continued in Jönköping, at the Welcome Reception of the 2017 Annual Conference – #eden17. The 2017 Awards were announced to the Senior Fellows, Fellows and Young Scholars present at the event, while those who couldn’t join the Conference Reception were mentioned with applause.

The EDEN Senior Fellow Award was given in 2017, based on the decision of the EDEN Executive Committee to:

Steve Wheeler
Plymouth University, United Kingdom

Gila Kurtz
Bar Ilan University, Israel

Jack Koumi
Educational Media Production Training, United Kingdom

Wim van Petegem
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

The EDEN Fellow Award was given in 2017, based on the decision of the EDEN Executive Committee to:

Anca Cristina Colibaba
Grigore T. Popa University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Romania

Eva Szalma
Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Mark Brown
Dublin City University, Ireland

Alastair Creelman
Linnaeus University, Sweden



Best Research Paper Award

Since 2008, EDEN has bestowed the Best Research Paper Award at its Annual Conferences and the bi-annual Research Workshops.

A robust selection process guarantees the high-standing of these awards for contributions to the field of open, distance and e-learning. The selection process takes place in collaboration with the Ulrich Bernath Foundation for Research in Open and Distance Learning, with the support of a distinguished Jury. Read more and see previous winners here.

The Best Research Paper Award ceremony was held at the conference gala dinner and went to:

Gokcen Aydin, Mithat Cicek, Mustafa Gulec
Middle East Technical University, Turkey
for the conference paper on Effects of Multimedia Feedback on Pre-Service Teachers’ Perceptions, Self-Assessment, and Academic Achievement



Young Scholars Award

The award to young scholars has been offered at our Annual Conferences and Research Workshops since it’s introduction in 2014 in Oxford thanks to the Ulrich Bernath Foundation and the Oldenburg University.

The Young Scholar Award was given in 2017, based on the decision of the SADE, the Swedish Association for Open and Distance Learning to:

Nikola Kadoic
University of Zagreb, Croatia

See past winners here.



EDEN Badges

The European Distance and E-Learning Network has extended its quality and excellence recognition with the launch of open badges which aim to help colleagues within the EDEN Network to communicate their achievements and skills acquired via their participation in EDEN activities. See more here.