EDENRW8 Best Research Paper Award Nominees

October 14, 2014 by EDEN Secretariat   Comments (0)

, , , ,

UPDATE: Winner(s) of the EDENRW8 Best Research Paper Award will be announced tonight.

Since 2008, EDEN is continuously granting the Best Research Paper Award at EDEN’s Annual Conferences as well as at EDEN’s bi-annual Research Workshops. A high quality standard selection process shall guarantee the branding of a distinguished and reputable award for scholarly conference papers in the field of open, distance and e-learning.

The selection process takes place in collaboration with the Ulrich Bernath Foundation for Research in Open and Distance Learning and is supported by a Jury, approved by the EDEN Executive Committee.

Members of the Jury for the 2014 EDEN Best Research Paper Award to be granted at the 8th EDEN Research Workshop in Oxford are Tony Bates (Chair of the Jury, President and CEO of Tony Bates Associates Ltd, Canada); Gila Kurtz (Head ICT and Learning, The College for Academic Studies, Israel & representing EDEN Executive Committee); Gill Kirkup (Honorary Associate, IET, OUUK & Editor of Open Learning); Alexandra M. Pickett (Director, Open SUNY Center for Excellence in Online Teaching, State University of New York, USA); Ulrich Bernath & Thomas Hülsmann (Trustees and Directors of the U.B. Foundation, Germany).

47 Conference papers have been selected as research papers and evaluated against the following criteria:

(i) contributes convincingly to the theme(s) of the conference;

(ii) deals with a research question of relevance for conference participants;

(iii) rigorous examination/research methods are applied;

(iv) findings, results and outcomes are convincingly presented and critically examined; (v) conclusions are thoroughly discussed (including aspects like applicability, transferability, and/or further research);

(vi) literature is reviewed against the state of art. In addition, authors needed to confirm that at least 30% of their paper has been originated for and at least one author has registered for participation at the 8th EDEN Research Workshop in Oxford.

The Jury nominated the following FINALISTS (listed along the programme schedule):

  • A1 Faculty Role Change: Adjustment to the Influence of Online Teaching and Learning by Martha Cleveland-Innes, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, Athabasca University, Sarah Gauvreau, Contact North, Canada
  • A1 Successful Online Distance Learners: An Exploration of Learner Characteristics and Patterns in Online Learning by Trish Andrews, University of Southern Queensland, Australia, Belinda Tynan, The Open University, United Kingdom  
  • A2 Internal Responses to Informal Learning Data: Testing a Rapid Commissioning Approach by Patrina Law, Leigh-Anne Perryman, The Open University, United Kingdom  
  • C1 Feedback on Academic Essay Writing through Pre-Emptive Hints – Moving Towards ‘Advice for Action’ by Denise Whitelock, Alison Twiner, John T. E. Richardson, The Open University, Debora Field, Stephen Pulman, University of Oxford, United Kingdom  
  • C1 The Influence of Emotion on Cognitive Presence in a Case of Online Math Coaching by Martha Cleveland-Innes, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, Athabasca University, Canada, Stefan Stenbom, Stefan Hrastinski, The Royal Institute of Technology - KTH, Sweden
  • C2 Student Perspectives on the Use of Their Data: Between Intrusion, Surveillance and Care by Sharon Slade, The Open University, United Kingdom, Paul Prinsloo, University of South Africa, South Africa
  • C5 Achieving Improved Quality and Validity: Reframing Research and Evaluation of Learning Technologies by Adrian Kirkwood, Linda Price, The Open University, United Kingdom

The Winner(s) will be announced during the Gala Dinner of EDENRW8.

Previous winners of the EDEN Best Research Paper Award (you may download the full papers here)

2008 EDEN Annual Conference in Lisbon: „Examining the effectiveness of distance education: Results from multi-level modelling” by T. Seifert, B. Sheppard, A.M. Vaughn, Memorial University, Newfoundland/Canada (Chair of the Jury: Michael Grahame Moore, Pennsylvania State University/USA).

2008 5th EDEN Research Workshop in Paris: „Opening access to higher education to all? What motivates academic staff in traditional universities to adopt e-learning?” by K. MacKeogh & S. Fox, OSCAIL, Dublin City University/Ireland AND “L'enseignement a distance en milieu carceral: Droit a l'éducation ou privilege?“ by Fanny Salane (Chair of the Jury: Torstein Rekkedal, Norwegian School of Information Technology and NKI Distance Education/Norway).

2009 EDEN Annual Conference in Gdansk: „Evaluating continuous assessment quality in competence-based education online: The case of the e-folio” by Alda Pereira, Isolina Oliveira, Luís Tinoca, Lúcia Amante, Maria de Jesus Relvas, Maria do Carmo Teixeira Pinto, Darlinda Moreira,  Universidade Aberta/Portugal (Chair of the Jury: Otto Peters, FernUniversität/Germany).

2010 EDEN Annual Conference in Valencia: "Mathematical Intimacy within Blended and Face-to-Face Learning Environments” by Oana Radu &Tim Seifert, Memorial University, Canada (Chair of the Jury: Michael Kerres, University of Duisburg/Essen/Germany).

2010 6th EDEN Research Workshop in Budapest: „Establishing a Foundational Framework for Development of Reflective Thinking: Learning Journals in the MDE“ by Lisa Maria Blaschke & Jane Brindley, Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg/Germany (Chair of the Jury: Gilly Salmon, University of Leicester/U.K).

2011 EDEN Annual Conference in Dublin: „Student perceptions and preferences for tertiary online courses: Does prior high school distance learning make a difference?” by Dale Kirby, Dennis B. Sharpe, Canada & Michael K. Barbour, United States, and  ”Local support for online learners with possible learning disabilities” by Torstein Rekkedal, Norway (Chair of the Jury: Alan Tait, The Open University UK).

2012 EDEN Annual Conference in Porto: “Reconsidering 'Gen Y' & Co: From Minding the Gap to Overcoming it” by Emanuele Rapetti & Lorenzo Cantoni, Universita della Svizzera Italiana, Switzerland (Chair of the Jury: Ingeborg Bø, Norway).

2012 7th EDEN Research Workshop in Leuven: “Students' Attitude towards ICT Learning Uses: A Comparison between Digital Learners in Blended and Virtual Universities” by Iolanda Garcia et al., Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain (Chair of the Jury: Martine Vidal, France).

2013 EDEN Annual Conference in Oslo: “Eliciting Students' Voices through Screencast-Assisted 'Feedback on Feedback'” by Maria Fernández-Toro & Concha Furnborough, The Open University, United Kingdom (Chair of the Jury: Albert Sangrà Morer, Open University of Catalunya).

2014 EDEN Annual Conference in Zagreb: “Digital Storytelling as a Reflective Practice Tool in a Community of Professionals" by Corrado Petrucco, University of Padova, Italy (Chair of the Jury: Terry Anderson, Athabasca University, Canada).


EDENRW8 Weblinks:

The Full Programme | Invitation by the EDEN President | Online Registration Form

Keynote Speakers | Welcome Reception and Gala Dinner | Hotel Booking | Partner & Venue