Annual Conference, Oslo

Maria Fernandez-Toro, Concha Furnborough, The Open University, United Kingdom: Eliciting Students? Voices through Screencast-assisted ?Feedback on Feedback’

Download the Award-winning paper below.


The Jury members unanimously voted for 

?Eliciting Students’ Voices through Screencast-Assisted ‘Feedback on Feedback’? by Maria Fernández-Toro & Concha Furnborough, The Open University, United Kingdom

as the winner of the EDEN Best Research Paper Award. In the Jury’s judgement this paper convincingly contributes to the theme of the conference on?The Joy of Learning ? Enhancing Learning Experience, Improving Learning Quality?. The authors are drawing attention to feedback as a critical aspect of a satisfactory learning experience, they are applying proper research methods and present results that are critically examined, thoroughly discussed including an explicit statement on limitations and on further research. The authors’ conclusions are applicable and transferable, hence relevant for improving a widespread every-day rountine in online teaching and learning.

Nominated finalists of 2013:

Session A1 – Stories of Joy and Despair in the Virtual Classroom
Mark Brown, Helen Hughes, Massey University, New Zealand, Mike Keppell, Natasha Hard, University of Southern Queensland, Liz Smith, Charles Sturt University, Australia

Session A2 – Seeking for the Added Value of Videogames and Simulations
Sergio Vasquez Bronfman, École Superieure de Commerce de Paris, France

Session A3 – Interaction Equivalency in the OER and Informal Learning Era
Terumi Miyazoe, Tokyo Denki University, Japan, Terry Anderson, Athabasca University, Canada

Session B1 – Eliciting Students? Voices through Screencast-assisted ?Feedback on Feedback?
Maria Fernandez-Toro, Concha Furnborough, The Open University, United Kingdom

Session C1 – eTandem Language Learning Integrated in the Curriculum: Reflection from Students? Perspectives
Jue Wang-Szilas, PLIDAM, INALCO, France; ESTAS, Université de Genève, Claudia Berger, ESTAS, Université de Genève, Switzerland, Ling Zhang, French Department, Hubei University, China

Session C2 – Virtual Representations in 3D Learning Environments
Miri Shonfeld, Miki Kritz, Jacob Gujski, Kibbutzim College of Education Technology and Art, Israel

Session D1 – Concept Learning via SMS Delivery at the University Level
Yaacov Katz, Bar-Ilan University, Israel

Session G1- Teachers? Use of Technology and their Ideas about Learning
Tim Seifert, Bruce Sheppard, Marg Wakeham, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada

Session H2 – Evaluating Learning Activities: A Design Perspective
Michelle Harrison, Melissa Jakubec, Thompson Rivers University, Canada

Session H3 – The Motivated, the Encouraged, and the Wilful Ignorant
Thomas Richter, Heimo H. Adelsberger, University of Duisburg-Essen – UDE, Germany

Members of the Jury

  • Albert Sangrà Morer, Chair of the Jury, Director, eLearn Center, Open University of Catalonia (UOC);
  • Anne Swanberg, Head of Department LearningLab, BI Norwegian Business School;
  • Airina Volungeviciene, Head of Distance Study Centre, Vytautas Magnus University, Lithuania;
  • Costas Tsolakidis, Associate Professor, Department of Education, University of the Aegean, Greece;
  • Ulrich Bernath & Thomas Hülsmann, Trustees and Directors of the U.B. Foundation, Germany.